Braga is located in the northwest of Portugal, more specifically in Vale do Cávado, also known as Minho region.

The District of Braga (constituted by the councils of Amares, Barcelos, Braga, Cabeceiras de Basto, Celorico de Basto, Esposende, Fafe, Guimarães, Póvoa do Lanhoso, Terras de Bouro, Vieira do Minho, Vila Nova de Famalicão and Vila Verde), has been growing in terms of population with about 181,000 inhabitants in Braga council (data analysis provided by the Portuguese Statistics Institute in 2011).

Founded by the Romans as "Bracara Augusta", Braga was the first Portuguese city. It has more than 2000 years of history and is one of the oldest Christian cities in the world.

Braga was donated to Archbishops in 1112. Braga's bishops administrated a landlord from 1112 to 1792, which exempted the city of royal power. Therefore, Braga is known as the "City of the Archbishops" because the holders of this ecclesiastical title were masters of the city for almost seven centuries

In the late twentieth century, Braga suffers a great development and becomes the third city of the country, a status it maintains today. It is also known by many as "Capital of Minho."

The centre is located on the hilltop of the city, which has also a set of broad avenues driving traffic in various directions.

City Map with Clickable Information Icons

Monuments and Churches

One of the largest religious centres of Portugal, Braga is known for its baroque churches, splendid houses of the eighteenth century and the beautiful parks and gardens.

Braga Cathedral

Bom Jesus do Monte Sanctuary

Sameiro Sanctuary

Santa Cruz Church

Congregados Church

Largo do Paço

Santa Bárbara Gardens


Holy Week - Semana Santa

Changes yearly with Easter - link

Braga Romana

25 to 29 of May - link

Feast of Saint John the Baptist

11 to 24 of June - link

White Night

2, 3 and 4 of September - link